Points in the Paint

Fantasy Basketball Opinions, Strategy & Tips

Draft Round-up: My Teams (Part 1)

Posted by Erik on October 30, 2007

=

I must admit that I wasn’t that great a drafter coming into this season, but after putting up my blog and getting immersed in all the pre-draft preparation and analysis I’m proud to say that I believe I ended up drafting pretty solid teams for the leagues I signed up for.

I signed up in two roto leagues and two head to head leagues under my regular/original yahoo ID. I also drafted the same number teams and types of formats in a secondary yahoo ID in public leagues. Most of these leagues drafted relatively early and I made some free agency pick-ups. The listings below reflect my rosters coming into opening night’s tip-off!

ROTO LEAGUES

TEAM 1 – This is league is my regular fantasy ball group. It is composed of the regulars who I’ve been playing against since I started fantasy ball. I know most of the guys in the league personally, so there’s some pride involved in winning. In the 4 years the league’s been running only 3 guys have finished 1st. I’m the most recent winner, running away with it as early as late December, last year. No one’s ever repeated as champ and I want to be the first to assemble a DYNASTY!

Number of Managers: 14
Positions Played: PG, SG, G, SF, PF, F, C, C, Util, Util, 2 Bench
Stats Played: FG%, FT%, Points, Rebs, Assts, Blks, Stls, 3PT-Made, TOs

ROSTER:

Chris Paul

Kevin Martin

Andre Miller

Wally Szczerbiak

Rasheed Wallace

Drew Gooden

Marcus Camby

Chris Wilcox

Richard Hamilton

Theo Ratliff

Kelenna Azubuike

Daniel Gibson

*I made an early pre-season trade to acquire Andre Miller, Drew Gooden, and Michael Pietrus (who I dropped to pick up WallyWorld) for Corey Maggette, Jameer Nelson, and Marco Belinelli. I desperately needed Andre because Chris Paul has yet to prove he’s durable and obviously can’t hold the assist cat by himself.

TEAM 2 – This is one of the leagues that’s got a more personal edge to it for me. Trash talking is pretty rampant and a couple of “rivals” sometimes take it to a personal level. This pre-season was pretty bloody as the trash was slung hard, fast and laid out pretty thick. So I was stoked to find out on draft day that I landed in 1st position, making it easier to kick some rival-ass! In the 3 years I’ve played in this brutal (because of the stats played and the number of managers 16-18) league I’ve managed to place 3rd everytime. I want to cement my consistency and take it to the next level and finally nail the top spot at the podium. This year’s finish will hopefully smack my naysayers with a big “STFU!” – pardon my french.

Number of Managers: 20
Positions Played: PG, SG, G, SF, PF, F, C, Util, Util, 2 Bench
Stats Played: Points, FG%, FT%, O-Rebs, D-Rebs, Blks, Stls, Assts, AT Ratio, TOs, 3-pt Made, 3pt%, Techs, Ejections – Pretty Brutal as you can see!

ROSTER:

TJ Ford

Peja Stojakovic

Kirk Hinrich

Wally Szczerbiak

Udonis Haslem

Kevin Garnett

LaMarcus Aldridge

Al Thornton

Corey Brewer

Kelenna Azubuike

Theo Ratliff

Bonzi Wells

Head to Head Leagues

TEAM 3 – This is a league that I heard was pretty competitive and since I knew half a dozen guys who played in it, I requested for an invite so I could improve on my head to head managing skills.

Number of Managers:18
Positions Played: PG, SG, G, SF, PF, F, C, Util, Bench, Bench
Stats Played: FG%, FT%, Points, Rebs, Blks, Assts, Stls, 3PT-Made, TOs

*Max Moves of 50

ROSTER:

Mo Williams

Jason Terry

Mike Miller

Corey Brewer

Nenad Krstic

Josh Smith

Amare Stoudemire

Daniel Gibson

Juan Carlos Navarro

Alonzo Mourning

* I find this roster to be a bit too raw and I intend to improve on it through trades and free agency pick-ups through the course of the season.

TEAM 4 – This is effectively the head to head division of the league my first team’s on. This is also a league where I get to try out being commissioner for the first time. Around 9 of the 14 managers decided to sign up for this one, so after all invitees signed up I opened the league up to the public by posting it over at the Yahoo boards.

Number of Managers: 14
Positions Played: PG, SG, G, SF, PF, F, C, Util, Util, Bench, Bench
Stats Played: FG%, FT%, Points, Rebs, Assts, Blks, Stls, 3PT-Made, TOs

ROSTER:

TJ Ford

Kevin Martin

Paul Pierce

Kyle Korver

Danny Granger

Josh Smith

LaMarcus Aldridge

Jamal Crawford

Hedo Turkoglu

Jarret Jack

Theo Ratliff

Daniel Gibson

o0o

Watch out for Part 2, where I’ll post my 4 teams on my second ID.

One Response to “Draft Round-up: My Teams (Part 1)”

  1. […] Points in the Paint has some actual fantasy stuff about some teams he drafted… I don’t know if it’s too late for that now, but I wanted to show some love. I’m loving all the new fantasy basketblogs people are starting this year. I think there’s more new fantasy basketblogs than there are social network developer platforms. Haha! Yeah right. < — Geek. […]

Leave a Reply

 
