Points in the Paint

Fantasy Basketball Opinions, Strategy & Tips

New Home for Ricky Davis

Posted by Erik on July 29, 2008

The Clippers have signed Ricky Davis. I think it’s a brilliant move for the new look Clips franchise. I really see Ricky as being a good swingman component in their offense and his game can potentially complement Baron’s (Davis). I disagree with the idea that he should serve as “instant offense” off the bench. I feel the team will be better served by starting Ricky over Cuttino Mobley or even Al thornton, who still needs some ways to go in terms of his development. Hey I’m no caoch, but I personally think the  “Double Davis” one-two punch combo will be pretty effective in an up-tempo, run and gun type of offense.

IMPACT

Now for the numbers… bottom line it will really depend on whether or not he starts, but let me go out on a limb here and take an upside shot for the guy. 15.4 PPG, 3 RPG, 4 APG, 1.3 SPG, 44-46 FG% and 1.5 threes per game. I also figure coach Mike Dunleavy will appreciate his usefulness and give him around 30+ mins per game.  In fairness to the guy, I feel his poor production in Miami was more a matter of coaching incompatibility. With a new coach, new team, and system; I think it’s reasonable to expect him to bounce back from last year’s production.

Other Signings

Andris Biedrins – Overpaid at $63M over 6 years? Dropping Dimes seems to be a bit worried that he might be, even comparing Andris’ per 36 min production to Anderson Varejao. I’d like to look at the move as a long term one. He is decent long term investment for the team and we should look at the fact that he is only being currently under utilized in Don Nelson’s system – sometimes playing Al Harrington in extended minutes at the center slot. Within his six year contract, Andris can still improve and not to mention that “the Don” might not even being coaching the Warriors for as long a period. I foresee him (Biedrins) to up his numbers slightly from last year’s. He’ll definitely still be a double-double stud and even though his limited scoring production won’t get much of a bump GMTR puts his effective FG% impact at 55%.

Kwame Brown – 2 year deal with the Pistons. YAWN! Waste of good money by the franchise. He won’t even match Nazr Mohammed’s erratic numbers when he was their occasional C. I’m not going to waste more of MY time writing about this; as I have a vague suspicion that the Nuggets’ acquisition of Renaldo Balkman from the Knicks will somehow have a more significant impact both in real life and in fantasy ball.

4 Responses to “New Home for Ricky Davis”

  1. Karlo said

    I think that resigning Monta Ellis and Beidrins were two realy important moves for the Warriors. When they decided to let Baron go to the Clippers, they were pretty much saying that Monta, Andris, and Captain Jack was their future.

  2. Erik said

    I’m 100% on board with you on that note. People may believe it or not, but I feel that both Monta and Andris are worthy key components for any franchise. Frankly I’m not sure they actually had a chance to keep old Baron, I feel he wanted out all along…

  3. Alex said

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  4. Erik said

    Thanks for your comment and support Alex! Feel free to email me or post any suggestions you may have for my BLOG.

Leave a Reply

 
