Points in the Paint

Fantasy Basketball Opinions, Strategy & Tips

Inadvertent Rise

Posted by Erik on October 22, 2008

Somehow, I had my doubts that John McCain had Sarah Palin in mind as his first choice as his running mate. Pardon my political metaphor here, but I’m trying to make a point.

Somehow, I doubt that the makers of Red Bull originally foresaw it to be a great partner for vodka and end up being such a popular alcoholic cocktail. (Points in the Paint says: Don’t drink and drive! Stay home… Drink and draft!)

Somehow, I doubt that a lot of PG-fetish addicts didn’t expect Chauncey Billups to be on top of their lists (after Chris Paul, of course – shouldn’t that go without saying?).

Well somehow, due to to assorted injuries to “preferred” point guards, Chauncey has seen his fantasy draft value inadvertently rise.

Chill out! I'M not injured!

Everyone. Well fine, a lot of people. Ok! Ok! SOME people were actually giving old CB a downgrade coming into this season, with the expectation of his inevitable statistical decline. He wasn’t exactly close to the head of the pack when it came to the “pass-first PG” queue. But I suppose he didn’t like it too much and so he hired some Voodoo witch doctors to put hexes on the guys ahead of him in the line towards first round pickdom.

Baron Davis sprains his finger. Rumors point to him being ready for the Clips’ opening tip-off, but I’m not holding my breath. Mental note: “Jenny Craig diets (or diets in general) may be hazardous to your fingers’ health”. Deron Williams sprains his ankle and word on the street is that he will be gone for at least 2 weeks. (Sniffle, sniffle) Hopefully Steve Nash won’t be out playing soccer (or football to you non-Americans) and sprains his, uh, hair? I’m just kidding Chauncey. I know no one can prove any such preposterousness in a court of law.

What the "F" is wrong with my hair?!?

Seriously, what SHOULD the average drafter do with Chauncey Billups now that the other PGs are afflicted with sprain-itis? Is it time to begin earmarking him for the first round? Brendan of 2RR asked me that over at my Deron-injury-rant post and it made me decide to smoke some weed and ponder the pink melancholy of the chrysanthemum spirals of the universe… fine maybe that was a little bit too LSD and a little too less brownie-mix. Nevertheless, I gave our boy Chauncey, a long and hard second look.

What did stand out in my mind is that the healthy “passing PGs” are now OFFICIALLY more scarce than reliable centers with few drawbacks. Yup. Even taking into account that the average league has 2 C roster spots to fill.

DRAFT ADVICE

For Rotisserie – Chauncey’s always been a solid stud when it came around to finding balance in this chaotic fantasy basketball world. So yes, draft him in the second round. Draft him early, if you like. It’s ok. He can still fulfill your guilty “PG craving” pleasure. No worries there. He is still solid value even as an early second rounder. Someone picked Caron at 10th; the next guy picks Allen Iverson at 11th; you then decide to take, say Danny “OMFG what a fantasy stud!” Granger or Big Al Jefferson at 12th. Go ahead! Bounce to Chauncey. No one will fault you for making that move.

For Head to Head – The beauty of this format is that it isn’t too insistent on balance. Unless you drafted Iverson in the first and want to bounce to Chauncey in the 2nd to go for small ball, I see no real or critical need to reach for him. Caron bounce to Chauncey isn’t too bad either. In late drafting position, you can always opt to go big and bounce some big men in the first couple of rounds. The bottom line is that as long as it is strategically clear to you as to why you are “reaching” for Chauncey in a draft, then it is alright to go and grab him. Don’t just go impulse-drafting because you know that quality healthy passing PGs are now few and far between.

If throw this ball hard and far enough, maybe I can hit Chris Paul with it...

If throw this ball hard and far enough, maybe I can hit Chris Paul with it...

If I lay low enough, maybe the other PGs wont see me coming!

If I lay low enough, maybe the other PGs won't see me coming! Yes, they will underestimate the sneakiness!

Sorry Rip, my witch doctors can only hex point guards. I guess your stuck being drafted in the 7th round.

Sorry Rip, my witch doctors can only hex point guards. I guess your stuck being drafted in the 7th round. Besides, they can't seem to mess with Kobe's mojo...

2 Responses to “Inadvertent Rise”

  1. seanlb said

    Chauncey Billups-G- Pistons Oct. 21 – 1:55 pm et

    Point guard Chauncey Billups (right ankle sprain) practiced Tuesday and says he will play Wednesday night against the Cavaliers.
    He should be good to go on opening night, but we do foresee him losing some playing time to Rodney Stuckey this season.
    Source: Detroit Free Press

    that from rotoworld, just a little bit after your post.

  2. Erik said

    Ha ha ha! I guess that bursts the Chauncey-conspiracy thing I had going there.
    Hmmm… time to pin the blame on… Aha! Jose Calderon! HE’s hexing all the other PGs! HE is the one who wants to jump into the first round!

    Apologies go out to Chauncey and my imaginary witch doctors.

    Thanks Sean!

Leave a Reply

 
