Points in the Paint

Fantasy Basketball Opinions, Strategy & Tips

More Learnings From an NBASE Rookie

Posted by Erik on January 29, 2009

I am now currently 3rd out of 44 in the Stinkytee.com‘s NBASE league. I guess I must be doing somethings right. My team’s not currently overplayed in its positions so that means the players I’ve been playing on my frequently rotating roster have been relatively effective in garnering me those coveted fantasy points. Speaking of which, for those of you who don’t know the NBASE fantasy points system is scored accordingly:

Statistical Category Fantasy Points
Field Goals Missed (FGMI) -0.46
Field Goals Made (FGMA) 0.54
Free Throw Missed (FTMI) -0.75
Free Throw Made (FTMA) 0.25
Points Scored (PT) 0.50
3-point Shots Made (3PT) 1.00
Total Rebounds (REB) 1.50
Assists (AST) 1.99
Steals (ST) 3.00
Turnovers (TO) -2.00
Blocked Shots (BLK) 3.00

So as you can see, defensive numbers are key in gaining some quality headway in this game. Players with good  block and/or steal to turnover ratios are prime candidates to fill any successful team’s roster.

A few weeks ago I decided to invest more than a third of my entire team’s NBASE $ value on one player, Chris Paul. His consistent steal and assist to turnover ratio is second to none in the NBA right now and he provides my team with consistency in that one spot I have him locked in at. I purchased him at around 135-ish NBASE$. You might say that 3 or so guys who are worth 40ish dollars would end up providing higher fantasy point totals combined compared to my singular Chris Paul. Allow me now to reiterate, the key word here is CONSISTENCY. I kind of regret letting go of Chris when awhile back I was able to purchase him at around $89. I used my gains from his increase in price to shuffle through some other players like Tim Duncan, Marcus Camby, and Andre Iguodala. From now until the end of the season, however, I’ve made the decision that CP3 is on my team to stay. I guess I will have to be content to cycle the remainder of my team’s value to ride good matchup trends and slide past injuries. I don’t regret putting so many of my eggs in the CP3 basket. Things are looking up. I just need to keep getting good reads in terms expected statistical performances. The challenge is to ride the players in their highs and sell them off just before they hit low points.

Prior to Danny Granger’s finger and elbow injuries, he and Troy Murphy were both mainstays as complements to my elite PG. I had to sell off Danny when his price dropped drastically $15 is a big drop which connoted a massive sell off. Troy’s low turnover to rebound and steal ratio is excellent. He and Rajon Rondo are currently my mainstays until I can re-purchase Danny G.

I have my eye on reacquiring KG, Tim Duncan, and maybe Vince Carter (yup he’s had several good games with ridiculously low TOs). I will need to buy and sell my guys at just the right time of course. In NBASE, more than any other kind of fantasy basketball game, timing is the everything.

One Response to “More Learnings From an NBASE Rookie”

  1. […] Troy Murphy (PF/C, Indiana Pacers) – Before the season began I wasn’t all that high on drafting Troy in any of my fantasy leagues. I saw him as a guy who could occassionaly flirt double-double (10-10) every now and then. He’s small ball type of big man who can be a decent source of treys from a fantasy team’s front court. I was only able to draft him in my Battle of the Bloggers 10-man, head to head league for the small ball game I wanted to orchestrate. I go “OK, not bad, he will do.” when I picked him. Honestly, I now must admit that I didn’t see this season’s Troy Murphy coming. Wow! Two treys and eleven and a half rebounds a game from your team’s center at only one and a half turnovers a night is simply fantastic – or should I say “Troytastic?” Now this white man can really box out guys and jump up to grab those boards. He is currently Yahoo ranked at 33 as far as totals are concerned but finished last season all the way at 81st. Now that, boys and girls, is one heck of a jump in the rankings! He is by far my favorite among the white boys who are currently jumping up in the rankings this year. He’s even one of the key players I like to keep on my NBASE roster. […]

Leave a comment